Car Seat Canopy…thing.


Let me just explain one thing before I start explaining what I am posting.

For one, I am in no way a good seamstress. I took a few classes in my beginning stages of high school & stopped after that. Not because I didn’t enjoy it but because I just didn’t keep up with it. I started sewing a few things here and there recently and now I realize…when I have time…that I want to keep up with some few projects I have in mind.

There ya have it. Had to just explain that before I move forward. So, yes. The car seat canopy. First of all, I never see these out and about around where we are from. Only when I am at my church, is when I see them. I was slightly confused I remember when I saw it. Some lovely mama while back was carrying something with fabric over something large and I thought, what the heck is being suffocated underneath that? All the sudden, some of that fabric was pulled back and there was a baby…sleeping soundly in the carseat. Then it all came together. What a smart idea! I never made or had one with our first child, but now…oh yes, forgot to mention somewhere in this blog, we are expecting #2 this spring (hooray!!!), I thought I should try this out and make one. For one, it seems as though it would be nice and cozy. Two, keeps random strangers away for wanting to come touch your little ones faces. Cover those little babes right up and hopefully no one will try opening it. (Is it acceptable to somewhat lightly tap some strangers hand you don’t know if there is an attempt? Just wondering. Not that I would…well, maybe).

What do you all think? I still feel like I may be suffocating my child but I do like the idea of this. I am assuming you all have heard of Pinterest. If you haven’t…well, I don’t know what to say to you then. It’s not good. I found this girls blog on there & a pretty simple tutorial. So first off, thank you Pinterest for directing me & secondly and most importantly, thank you to Creatively Christy!  ( very fun blog if you ask me).

I will leave the directions all credited clearly to her. Click on the link, go check that out!

Leave a Reply

